College graduates with English degrees possess the communication skills employers want. An Associate of Arts Degree in General Studies with an emphasis in English prepares students to enter the workforce or continue pursuing an education at the university and graduate school level. Career areas include law, political science/government, public administration, business management, communication, and education.

Future Students:

Apply Now

Current Students:

Register Now

About this Program

Degrees & Certifications Program Length
Associate of Arts Degree Four Semesters

What Can This Program Do For You

  • Suggested Courses

    Students planning to transfer a Cisco College Associates of Arts Degree or Cisco College core curriculum to a four-year institution for an English-related degree are encouraged to consider the following suggested curricula.  However, students should always consult the department, degree, or program information for their intended transfer institution.

    Freshman Year

    First SemesterSecond Semester
    ENGL 1301 Eng. Comp. & Rhet.3ENGL 1302 Eng. Comp & Rhet.3
    HIST 1301 Hist of U.S. to Reconstruction3HIST 1302 Hist. of U.S. since Reconstruction3
    Life & Physical Sciences4Life & Physical Sciences4
    MATH 1314 College Algebra3SPCH 1316 Public Speak. or 1321 Bus. & Prof. Speak.3
    Creative Arts3Social & Behavioral Sciences3
    Total Hours16Total Hours16

    Sophomore Year

    First SemesterSecond Semester
    American, British or World Lit.3American, British or World Lit.3
    GOVT 2305 Federal Govt.3GOVT 2306 Texas Govt.3
    Foreign Language4Foreign Language4
    HIST 2321 or HIST 2322 Hist. of World Civ.3PHIL 1301 Intro. to Phil or 2306 Intro. to Ethics3
    Component Area Elective3
    Total Hours16Total Hours13

    See the Cisco College Catalog for additional course listings.

  • Potential Career Paths
    • Publications writer/editor
    • Content Strategist
    • Technical Writer
    • Copywriter
    • Social Media Consultant
    • Creative Writer
    • Librarian
    • Educator
    • Journalist
    • Editor
  • Salary Information

    Links to the following websites are provided for your convenience and information and do not constitute official endorsement by Cisco College. 

  • Writing Program

    The English Department houses the Cisco College Writing Program which is comprised of courses in composition, technical and creative writing, and literature. See syllabi below:

    English 1301 - Composition IEnglish 2327 - American Literature I
    English 1302 - Composition IIEnglish 2328 - American Literature II
    English 2311 - Technical Business WritingEnglish 2332 - World Literature I
    English 2322 British Literature IEnglish 2341 - Forms of Literature
    English 2323 -British Literature II

    The Writing Program recognizes writing as a means of communication, academic discovery, intellectual awareness, political power, and personal expression. Writing can be improved through participation in a writing process, studying rhetorical strategies, college-level textual and literary analysis, and critically engaging one's own mechanics, logic, organization, and development. The Writing Program maintains Guidelines to align Cisco College courses with the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board requirements, Cisco College policies, and best practices for the English discipline.

    See our Cisco College Grading Standards for Composition Papers.

Meet the Faculty

Kathy Adkins

Adjunct Instructor - English
Abilene Campus
kathy.adkins@cisco.edu

Tom Bell

Professor of English
Abilene Campus
(325) 794-4473
tom.bell@cisco.edu

Curriculum Vitae

Cindy Brookey

Professor of English
Abilene Campus
(325) 794-4419
cindy.brookey@cisco.edu

Curriculum Vitae

Angie Cook

Division Chair of Liberal Arts
Professor of English
Abilene Campus
(325) 794-4426
angie.cook@cisco.edu

Curriculum Vitae

Judy Cumby

Adjunct Instructor - English
Abilene Campus
judy.cumby@cisco.edu

Curriculum Vitae

Dessie Davis

Adjunct Instructor - English
Abilene Campus
dessie.davis@cisco.edu

Curriculum Vitae

Patrick Dembach

Adjunct Instructor - English/German
Abilene Campus
pat.dembach@cisco.edu

Curriculum Vitae

Bradley Ellison

Adjunct Instructor - English
Abilene Campus
bradley.ellison@cisco.edu

Curriculum Vitae

Heather Hicks

Professor of English
Accreditation Liaison
Abilene Campus
(325) 794-4460
heather.hicks@cisco.edu

Curriculum Vitae

Judy Hill

Adjunct Instructor - English
Abilene Campus
judy.hill@cisco.edu

Curriculum Vitae

William McClure

Professor of English
Abilene Campus
will.mcclure@cisco.edu

Wanda Moody

Professor of English
Cisco Campus
(254) 442-5179
wanda.moody@cisco.edu

Curriculum Vitae

Catherine Mullinax

Professor of English
Cisco Campus
(254) 442-5171
catherine.mullinax@cisco.edu

Curriculum Vitae

Ashley Simpson

Adjunct Instructor - English
Abilene Campus
ashley.simpson@cisco.edu

Curriculum Vitae

Linda Spetter

Professor of English
Cisco Campus
(254) 442-5043
linda.spetter@cisco.edu

Curriculum Vitae

Kimberly Torres

Professor of English
Abilene Campus
(325) 794-4535
kimberly.torres@cisco.edu

Curriculum Vitae

Teresa Villarreal

Professor of English
Abilene Campus
teresa.villarreal@cisco.edu

Curriculum Vitae

Kim Wombles

Professor of English
Abilene Campus
(325) 794-4570
kim.wombles@cisco.edu