College graduates with English degrees possess the communication skills employers want. An Associate of Arts Degree in General Studies with an emphasis in English prepares students to enter the workforce or continue pursuing an education at the university and graduate school level. Career areas include law, political science/government, public administration, business management, communication, and education. Please see the Cisco College Course Catalog for more information.

Future Students:

Apply Now

Current Students:

Register Now

About this Program

Degrees & Certifications Program Length
Associate of Arts Degree Four Semesters

What Can This Program Do For You

  • Potential Career Paths
    • Publications writer/editor
    • Content Strategist
    • Technical Writer
    • Copywriter
    • Social Media Consultant
    • Creative Writer
    • Librarian
    • Educator
    • Journalist
    • Editor
  • Salary Information

    Links to the following websites are provided for your convenience and information and do not constitute official endorsement by Cisco College.

  • Writing Program

    The English Department houses the Cisco College Writing Program which is comprised of courses in composition, technical and creative writing, and literature. See syllabi below:

    English 1301 - Composition IEnglish 2327 - American Literature I
    English 1302 - Composition IIEnglish 2328 - American Literature II
    English 2311 - Technical Business WritingEnglish 2332 - World Literature I
    English 2322 British Literature IEnglish 2341 - Forms of Literature
    English 2323 -British Literature II

    The Writing Program recognizes writing as a means of communication, academic discovery, intellectual awareness, political power, and personal expression. Writing can be improved through participation in a writing process, studying rhetorical strategies, college-level textual and literary analysis, and critically engaging one's own mechanics, logic, organization, and development. The Writing Program maintains Guidelines to align Cisco College courses with the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board requirements, Cisco College policies, and best practices for the English discipline.

    See our Cisco College Grading Standards for Composition Papers.

Meet the Faculty

Tom Bell

Professor of English
Abilene Campus
(325) 794-4473
tom.bell@cisco.edu

Curriculum Vitae

Cindy Brookey

Professor of English
Abilene Campus
(325) 794-4419
cindy.brookey@cisco.edu

Curriculum Vitae

Catherine Mullinax

Professor of English
Cisco Campus
(254) 442-5171
catherine.mullinax@cisco.edu

Curriculum Vitae

Katie New

Professor of English
Abilene Campus
(325)794-4462
katie.new@cisco.edu

Curriculum Vitae

Audrey Schaffner

Professor of English
Abilene Campus

audrey.schaffner@cisco.edu

Curriculum Vitae

Linda Spetter

Professor of English
Cisco Campus
(254) 442-5043
linda.spetter@cisco.edu

Curriculum Vitae

Kimberly Torres

Language, Communication, Studio Fine Arts, & Education Pathway Leader
Abilene Campus
(325) 794-4535
kimberly.torres@cisco.edu

Curriculum Vitae

Shawnna Sanzo

Professor of English
Abilene Campus
325-794-4442
shawnna.sanzo@cisco.edu

Curriculum Vitae

Kyle Smith

Professor of English
Abilene Campus
325-794-4574
kyle.smith@cisco.edu

Curriculum Vitae