Cisco College offers a one-year Vocational Nursing program, leading to a certificate in vocational nursing, which prepares the graduate to take the licensure exam. The program is accredited by the National League for Nursing Accrediting Commission. Licensure must be granted by the Board of Nursing for the State of Texas.

Application Procedures

limited number of students are accepted in each class. As a result, the admittance process is deliberate and decisive.

The Vocational Nursing Program accepts three classes of nursing students each year. Please complete the application process in conjunction with the following schedule:

  • January - September term
    • Deadline to Apply: September 30th
  • May - January term
    • Deadline to Apply: January 31st
  • August - May term
    • Deadline to Apply: May 31st

Selection Criteria

  • Must be a Certified Nurse Aide
  • Minimum GPA of 3.0 or higher in all pre-requisite courses
  • Score 75% or higher on the HESI (Health Education System, Inc.) 
  • Up to date on all immunizations
  • Additional components may be considered

Prerequisites

BIOL 2401 Anatomy & Physiology I (4 Hours)

BIOL 2402 Anatomy & Physiology II (4 Hours)

MDCA 1313 Medical Terminology (3 Hours)

About this Program

Degrees & Certifications Program Length
Vocational Nursing Certificate Three Semesters / 12 Months

What Can This Program Do For You

  • Courses
    First Semester - Fall
    Second Semester - Spring
    VNSG 1331 Pharmacology3VNSG 1429 Medical Surgical Nursing I4
    VNSG 1227 Medication Administration2VNSG 1260 Clinical for Med Surg Nursing2
    VNSG 1304 Foundations of Nursing3VNSG 1432 Medical Surgical Nursing II4
    VNSG 1423 Basic Nursing Skills4VNSG 2260 Clinical for Med Surg Nursing2
    Clinical 11
    TOTAL13TOTAL12
    Third Semester - Summer
    VNSG 1230 Maternal-Neonatal Nursing2
    VNSG 2160 Clinical for Maternal-Neonatal Nursing1
    VNSG 1234 Pediatrics2
    VNSG 2161 Clinical for Pediatrics1
    VNSG 2431 Advanced Nursing Skills4
    VNSG 2261 Clinical for Advanced Nursing2
    TOTAL12
  • Potential Career Paths
    • Licensed Vocational Nurse
  • Salary Information

    Links to the following websites are provided for your convenience and information and do not constitute official endorsement by Cisco College. 

Meet the Faculty

Tracey Cunningham

Adjunct Instructor - Vocational Nursing
Abilene Campus
tracey.cunningham@cisco.edu

Curriculum Vitae

Pam Dorn

Vocational Nursing Professor
Abilene Campus
(325) 794-4437
pam.dorn@cisco.edu

Curriculum Vitae

Kindra Elliott

Vocational Nursing Professor
Abilene Campus
kindra.elliott@cisco.edu

Curriculum Vitae

Philip Hernandez

Remediation Specialist
Abilene Campus
philip.hernandez@cisco.edu

Ronnie Hutchins

Professor of Nursing
Abilene Campus
ronnie.hutchins@cisco.edu

Curriculum Vitae

Tara Jones

Clinical Adjunct Instructor
Abilene Campus
tara.jones@cisco.edu

Sean Kim

Nursing Retention Specialist
Abilene Campus
sean.kim@cisco.edu

Curriculum Vitae

Brittany King

Clinical Adjunct Instructor
Abilene Campus
brittany.king@cisco@edu

Melissa Moore

Adjunct Clinical Instructor
Abilene Campus
melissa.moore@cisco.edu

Diane Rickman

Adjunct Instructor - Nursing
Abilene Campus
diane.rickman@cisco.edu

Curriculum Vitae

Marlene Ruppert

Vocational Nursing Professor
Abilene Campus
marlene.ruppert@cisco.edu

Curriculum Vitae

Jeanette Vincent

Vocational Nursing Professor
Abilene Campus
(325) 794-4445
jeanette.vincent@cisco.edu

Curriculum Vitae